Cortes Natural Food Co-op Annual General Meeting Minutes June 11, 2019, Mansons Hall

5:30pm General Manager Eric Hargrave calls the meeting to order.

Introductions: Current board members (Amy Robertson, Fred Savage, Meghan MacDonald, Anne Dzakovic, Iris Steigemann, Isabel Steigemann, De Clarke, Lara Sawyer) were introduced to the meeting.

Approval of the 2019 Agenda: Proposed Lizbeth James; seconded Theresa Hargrave. Passed unanimously.

Approval of the 2018 Minutes: Proposed Meghan MacDonald; seconded Lara Sawyer. Passed unanimously.

General Manager's Reports – Eric Hargrave **OPERATIONS REPORT**

- Increased wages and new position created in the store
- Continued building upgrades
- Climate Smart Certification
- Bakery expansion and relocation
- New 10% off quarterly coupon
- Introduction on bulk soaps and store re-organization
- Store sales up 7% so far this year
- Customer count up almost 6%
- Cafe sales up 11% so far this year
- Filling staff roles is harder than ever this year

CLIMATE SMART

- 24 tonnes carbon dioxide emitted per year, if we included R&B transportation of goods in our list it would triple the amount of CO2 emitted "by the Co-op".
- Taking action to reduce paper use, staff commuting and propane equipment.

FINANCIAL REPORT

- Sales and margins continue to go up
- Money being re-invested into staff (increased wages, benefits)
- Excluding bakery expansion, expenses were about the same as years gone by

Russ Haddow moves to see a 2% increase on credit card transactions. No one seconded. He has been invited to a board meeting to discuss this possibility further.

Ray Grout would like to formally "thank Eric for doing such a great job" - round of applause

BOARD REPORT – Fred Savage on behalf of Amy Robertson

- Bakery expansion
- Driveway relocation
- · Lots of little projects that add up to good progress

ELECTION OF BOARD MEMBERS

The board has nine members, including one staff member. Board terms are two years. Fred Savage is stepping down after serving two and a half terms. Amy Robertson, Isabel Steigemann, and Lara Sawyer are in the midst of their terms. De Clarke, Anne Dzakovic, Iris Steigemann and Meghan MacDonald are up for re-election. There are two other positions available. Garret Bartscher is elected by acclimation. One position remains unfilled.

The Board consists of Amy Robertson, Isabel Steigemann, Lara Sawyer, De Clarke, Anne Dzakovic, Iris Steigemann, Meghan MacDonald and Garret Bartscher.

Motion: to adjourn the meeting proposed by Eric Hargrave, Seconded by Lara Sawyer. Passed unanimously.

Meeting adjourned.